skip to navigation | skip to content

It's Renewal Time!
January 1st - March 31st is the time to renew you Professional License, Establishment License and Establishment Registration. Please renew as early as possible to receive your license by April 1st in order to be in compliance with the law to work. 
If an application is denied and not resubmitted by March 31, 2018, a late fee will be charged.  The late fee is $100.00: so, let's get those applications in early.
Also, please verify your continuing education certificates have the correct information as stated in the Rules in order to avoid a denial.  You may find this information in the Rules, Chapter 37, §3703,(C), (2). Please contact the Provider for a corrected copy if the items specified are not listed.
If you have questions, contact the office at 225/756-3488 or  The office hours are Monday - Thursday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM.

Notes / Reminders:  All applications (renewal and new) must be dated within 30 days of LBMT Office receipt.  Applications dated prior to 30 days of receipt will be returned to the applicant unprocessed.

When submitting online applications, an email confirmation will be received at the email address listed on your account.  If you do not receive an email, the application was not received for processing.  Please contact the office if you have questions.

The expiration date for all Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy licenses is March each year.

Renewal season is January 1st - March 31st each year.  Remember to renew early to receive your license by April 1st in order to work and be in compliance with the law.

First-Year professional licensees - When renewing online, you must attach a document stating "First year of licensure - no CEs required" in the area where CEs are required on the application. The document may be a "Word" doc you created.

Continuing Education for 2019 renewal must be taken 04/01/2018- 03/31/2019.  If you have questions, please contact the office. Please verify your CE Certificate contains all information as specified in LAC, Title 46, Part XLIV, Chapter 37, 3703 (C) (2) to avoid application denial. 

You may find the above information in La. R.S. 37:3551,et seq., Chapter 57 and LAC, Title 46, Part XLIV ("Louisiana Law" tab, Practice Act/Rules and Standards). Please review all information in the Practice Act and Rules. It is important for all Massage Therapists and Establishments to be aware of all laws that govern the profession.

LBMT takes its role of public protection seriously; but, can only act within its authority as a regulatory board.  If you feel an establishment or a therapist is violating the LMT Practice Act you may file a complaint on our website or with the local authorities.  We as a board will not file a complaint with the local law enforcement; but, encourage you to do so if you desire criminal prosecution.